
ARTICLE XLI   MEDICAL GAS WHOLESALERS PERMIT 
 
1. Every person, business or other entity where medical gas(es) are maintained, 

bought, sold or distributed within this state shall obtain a permit as a medical gas 
wholesaler from the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy. 

 
2. To obtain a permit or renew a permit for a medical gas wholesalers permit, the 

applicant shall: 
A.  Submit a written application on a form prescribed by the Board; 
B.  Submit the required fees as follows: 

Fifty dollars ($50.00) for the registration period January 1, 2012, through 
December 31, 2013, and each biennial registration period thereafter. 
 
A penalty of $50.00 shall be added to all late renewals postmarked after 
January 1, of each renewal period.   

 
3. Every business issued a medical gas wholesalers permit shall renew this permit 

biennially.  Newly issued permits which do not coincide with the registration period 
shall be valid for the following periods of time:  If the permit is issued in the first 
half of the registration period, it must be renewed at the end of the registration 
period.  If the permit is issued in the second half of the registration period, it must 
be renewed at the end of the next registration period. 

 
4. The person who signs the application for a medical gas wholesalers permit or its 

renewal  shall be the permit holder for that facility and shall be responsible for all 
activities in the permitted facility which are subject to regulation by the Board.  
Once issued, a permit cannot be amended, transferred, or assigned to another 
person. 

 
5. If the employment of a permit holder is terminated or if for any other reason he/she 

wishes to be relieved of the responsibilities of the permit holder, he/she must return 
the medical gas distributors permit to the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy with 
written notice that he/she is no longer the permit holder for that facility.  When a 
permit is thus returned, application for a new permit for that facility must be made 
to the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy within ten (10) days. 

 
6. If a permitted facility is permanently closed or has a change of ownership, the 

permit holder for that facility shall give notice to the Board of the effective date of 
closure or change in ownership at least ten (10) days prior to the closure or change 
of ownership. 

 
7. If a permitted facility has a change in name or location, a new permit must be 

obtained.  Application for this new permit must be made to the Board at least ten 
(10) days prior to the change. 

8. All medical gas wholesalers permitted by the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy shall 
comply with the following: 



A. A medical gas wholesaler shall distribute medical gases only to those persons 
authorized by state law to purchase, maintain, administer or use these 
products. 

B. A medical gas wholesaler shall not distribute medical gases directly to a 
patient. 

C. A medical gas wholesaler must maintain records of all acquisition and sales of 
medical gases for a period of two (2) years.  Normal business records are 
sufficient.  

D. A medical gas wholesaler who wishes to transfill medical gases shall register 
with the Food and Drug Administration and shall comply with all regulations 
and standards as required by such registration.  All copies of any inspections 
conducted by the Food and Drug Administration shall be maintained and 
produced for review by any agent of the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy.  A 
copy of the transfilling registration must be maintained on file.  

E. A medical gas wholesaler shall properly store and transport any medical gas in 
compliance with all federal, state and local laws and regulations. 

F. The Board of Pharmacy may refuse to issue or renew, or may suspend, revoke 
or restrict the permit of any medical gas wholesaler under the applicable 
provisions of ARTICLE IX of these regulations. 

 
9. For purposes of these regulations “medical gas” means a liquid or gaseous 

substance used for medical purposes and that is required by federal law to bear the 
following statement: “Caution: Federal law prohibits dispensing without a 
prescription.” Medical gases may include, but not be limited to liquid oxygen, 
compressed oxygen, and nitrous oxide. 

 
 
 


